Mayor Diana Willits

Elected in 2013

As a 31 year Windsor Heights resident, I have a great appreciation for this city’s strong sense of community and spirit. Our residents, businesses and community leaders have worked hard to establish Windsor Heights as a safe, friendly and financially-strong haven in the heart of it all. Jim and Diana have two daughters, Courtney and Ashley. Diana has served on the Windsor Heights City Council for 16 years, 6 years as Mayor Pro Tem. She currently serves on the following committees: Metro Advisory Legislative Committee, Metro Mayors Committee, Policy and Administration, Metro/WestHelp Board Member, Community Development Committee, Executive Board Metro Waste Authority, Convention and Visitors Board. Diana has also served for 6 years as a Greater Des Moines Partnership Washington DC Delegate.

CIVIC INVOLVEMENT: Chamber of Commerce Member, Chi Omega Parents Group President/Special Events Committee, Western City School Collaboration Committee, Urban Heights Covenant Church Worship and Fellowship Ministry Team Leader

Diana was instrumental in the creation of the Windsor Heights unique Zip Code, the Chamber of Commerce, the Special Events Committee, the Colby Park Redevelopment, the Bike Trail, Rental Standards and the West Help Home Improvement program.

City Council

Council Member Steve Peterson
Mayor Pro Tem

Elected in 2013

age:  66
Address:  1414 70th St
Occupation:  Client Services Consultant,  DuPont Pioneer
Education:  Valley High School, Drake University
Wife: Catherine Wilson
Children: Hanna & Ben
Civic Involvement:  Windsor Heights City Council, Mayor Pro Tem as well as Personnel and Finance committee.  Vice President of the Windsor Heights Chamber of Commerce. Chair of the DART Board of Commissioners.

“DART is the largest public transit agency in Iowa, serving 18 cities in and around Polk County to varying degrees. Those include Alleman, Altoona, Ankeny, Bondurant, Carlisle, Clive, Des Moines, Elkhart, Granger, Grimes, Johnston, Mitchellville, Pleasant Hill, Polk City, Runnells, Urbandale, West Des Moines and Windsor Heights.”

Council Member Betty Glover 

Elected in 2009

Council Member Tony Timm

Elected in 2013

Councilmember Threase Harms
Elected in 2015

Councilmember Zachary Bales-Henry
Elected in 2015